Senior Mixed

1:00 pm to 3:00 pm
e-mail.png Email Me

PMCC's One & Only 50ish Fun League

All skill levels are welcome!

We are a Fun Social curling league which encourages fellowship and good sportsmanship

The Friday Afternoon Senior Mixed league is a recreational league open to all men and women. It has been running for many years and has two separate sessions. The first half of the year runs from September / October to Christmas then January to March for the second half.

The teams are drawn up by the Senior Mixed Draw Master and every attempt is made to mix up the teams so that no one curls with the same individuals for the entire year.

The fall season has been cancelled due to Covid 19. Our league will begin curling January 15, 2021 until March 12, 2021 (this may be adjusted)

Curlers are encouraged to spend some time socializing after the game as refreshments are available

We play a round robin for each half and prize money is awarded for each session. There is also a trophy presented to the first place team in each session.

We hold a Christmas Lunch Special on our last day of curling in December and a League Closing Banquet/Annual General Meeting in March.

League Rules

  1. A tie is a tie
  2. A team of regular players may arrange themselves however they wish for any particular game and must remain that way for that game
  3. A spare must play Lead or Second as determined by the team as a whole
  4. In the event of the Skip being absent the Third, or one of the other members of the team as agreed upon, will take his/her place
  5. In the event of a protracted absence by a Skip or Third no spare will play theses positions without the consent of the executive as a whole or a portion thereof as designated by the President
  6. No team may play with three spares; a default result
  7. A defaulted game results in a win for the nod-defaulting team, with 2 points for the win, 8 points for the ends and 8 points for the score
  8. A conceded game before 8 ends played gives to the non-conceding team 1 point for each end not played and 1 point scored for each of the conceded ends

Some Thoughts for Us All

Curling is a friendly team game played by rules and governed by etiquette.

Rules are what you play by and etiquette is how you play.

The code of etiquette primarily exists to prevent unfair distractions  to players and controversies over results.  The following are not intended to be all-inclusive on the subject but form a good start and a fine ground for lengthy and entertaining discussions (off the ice please).

  1. The only persons allowed behind the counting-house, when the opponent is shooting, are the Skip and/or the Third
  2. The Lead and Second must remain between the hog lines when the opponents are delivering a rock
  3. A curler behind the counting-house must stand still, with broom off the ice, when the opposition is preparing to, and is, delivering a rock
  4. A person waiting his turn to deliver a rock, and standing behind an opponent preparing to deliver, must refrain from talking to others or distracting the shooter in any other way
  5. Only the Thirds confer, and decide, on the results of any end
  6. Only the Thirds are involved in any measurement - the Skips go down the ice, the Leads and Seconds stay well back and out of the house
  7. To avoid the possibility of debris falling to the ice in front of a moving rock a broom should not be shaken over its' passage or tapped in front of it's passage


President Robert Staines 604.464.2482 or email me
Secretary Anne Uchiyama   
Treasurer Maueen Newell  
Spares Coordinator Lora Finan 604.469.1269
Coffee Darlene Fenske  

Past Winners

  Fall Winning Team   Winter Winning Team
2015 J Pryor, K Prothero, P Hiebert & G Shaw 2016 T Stariha, K Prothero, P Hiebert & E Klein
2014 H Roos, J Miko, L Finan & B Hackett 2015 H Roos, M Haddon, L Belton & P Merz
2013 H Roos, M Staples, P Hiebert & E Klein 2014 F Hurtubise, P Muir, D Hiebert & E Erickson
2012 P Muir, D Knight, A Selbie & B Siemens 2013 J Keenan, A Selbie, E Erickson & L Belton
2011 R Bell, B Nybo, V Ballard & L Finan 2012 A Uchiyama, P Hiebert, L Belton & E Erickson
2010 L Gibson, K Tamayose, L Belton & B Yanko 2011 D Klein, L Dowie, G Simmonds & K Hammond
2009 A Campbell, I Marshall, L Dowie & E Klein 2010 S Staples, J Harder, P Turner & M Hughes
2008 G Engelking, I Marshall, L Dowie & J Derrick 2009 H McLatchy, B Carins, P Turner & B Derrick
2007 No curling 2008 G Engelking, D Moyer, K DeLeeuw & E Erickson
2006 T Miyanaga, D Moyer, B Smith & T Drysdale 2007 No curling
2005 R O'Handley, L Leacock, R Pfefferkorn & E Klein 2006 B Warren, L Sloan, B Carins & S Moyer
2004 D Sigfusson, J Hillman, . deLeeuw & B McKay 2005 J Stuart, M Staples, B Rodgers & L Belton
2003 J Stuart, B Woodside, R O'Handley & L Dowie 2004 R Leacock, J Walter, L Sloan & I Marshall
2002 D Moyer, G Engelking, L Belton & R Bell 2003 A Relkoff, L Leacock, R Bell & J moore
2001 L Harder, J Stuart, R Sloan & P Griffis 2002 D Lemke, J Harder, G Bergen & D Moyer
2000 G McArther, T Tiyanaga, H McLatchy & E Weignard 2001 G Rix, T Miyanaga, H McLatchy & E Erickson
1999 D Sigfusson, B Roberts, D Klien & H Bradley 2000 B Warren, R Sloan, S Collins & E Klein
1998 G Bicknell, R Leacock, T Curtis & G Bergen 1999 G Bicknell, R Leacock, B Belton & L Sloan
1997 D Bicknell, B Holmes, L Leacock & R Pfefferkorn 1998 A Relkoff, J Harder, B Roberts & G Bergen
1996 D Bicknell, I Wilson, S Staples & C Travis 1997 D Bicknell, E Sprout, D Stewart & H Bradley
1995 D Bicknell, B Woodside, K Corson & D Sigfusson 1996 T Miyanaga, E Sprout, I Wilson, L Sloan & P Heilscher
1994 E Dempster, B Woodside, S Kinsey & F Baker 1995
A Relkoff, B Woodside, K Corson & P Papove
G Bicknell, C Bardley, L Harder & J Richter
1993 A Relkoff, B Holmes, M Staples & B Papove 1994 A Relkoff, G Bicknell, S Collins &  A Dalrymple
1992 G Clark, P Woodside, L Harder & S Collins 1993 S Kinsey, A Kelkoff, R Leacock & A Dalrymple
1991 D Bicknell, J Hillman, L Harder & V Dempster 1992 No Curling
S Kinsey, J Hillman, E Clark & B Papove
D Bicknell, J Favelle, E Sprout & R Thompson
1991 G Clark, E Dempster, I Wilson & M Staples
1989 S Kinsey, I Nelson, J Favelle & J Douglas 1990
B Sprout, I Nelson, P Dodds & R Leacock
B Dunbar, J Favelle, G Lagerstrom & M Staples
1988 J Stuart, R Curtis, K Casey & R Pfefferkorn 1989 J Harder, B Sprout, S Wheeler & B Papove
1987 B Dunbar, F Letourneau, J Stuart & R Pfefferkorn 1988 A Dalrymple, L Nelson, P Thurm & A O'Neill
1986 The Gordon McArthur Team 1987 G Saunby, I Nelson, P Thurm & F Letourneau

Alex Relkoff Appreciation Award

Year Recipient Year Recipient Year Recipient Year Recipient Year Recipient
2014 Lora Finan 2013 Peter Muir 2012 Ian Marshall 2011 Hope Smith 2010 Brian & Jan Derrick